Historical Timeline of the College


Emanuel County citizens approve a bond issue of $2.1 million to underwrite the cost of a new college. Luck Flanders Gambrell donates 190 acres for the College. Board of Regents give final approval for the campus site.


Dr. George W. Walker named as first president of Emanuel County Junior College (ECJC). Official groundbreaking for new campus is held on January 13. Fall quarter classes begin at National Guard Armory in Swainsboro with 167 students enrolled. Administrative offices located in the Coleman Hotel Building.


Moved to new campus in fall of 1974.


Fully Accredited by SACS. President Walker retires from College. Dr. Willie D. Gunn, Dean of the College since 1972, becomes the second president of ECJC.


617 students enrolled fall of 1988. College name changes to East Georgia College (EGC).


Burning of the College Bond on campus. President Willie D. Gunn retires from East Georgia College.


Dr. Jeremiah J. Ashcroft, II, Dean of the College since 1977, becomes the third president of East Georgia College.                     


EGC Enrollment reaches 917. Campus computer network installed.


East Georgia College Statesboro opens in the Harvey House on the Georgia Southern University campus.


25th Anniversary of EGC. Groundbreaking for Luck Flanders Gambrell Center. EGC and the University of Georgia’s Selig Center for Economic Growth at the Terry College of Business co-host the first Rural Georgia Economic Outlook Luncheon.


Luck Flanders Gambrell Center opens. Vision Series begins.


Foster J. Watkins, retired president of Gainesville College, is appointed Interim President of EGC.


Gymnasium/Fitness Center/Classroom wing constructed. EGC celebrates 30th Anniversary.


Dr. John Black becomes the fourth president of East Georgia College. UGA’s Seilig Center reports EGC’s regional economic impact at $27.8 million.


Disc Golf course opens.


Student Center addition and renovation completed.


Students vote to add an athletics program to include men’s and women’s basketball, men’s baseball, and women’s fast-pitch softball. “Bob” the Bobcat becomes the official mascot. EGC hosts the first State Intercollegiate Disc Golf tournament ever held in Georgia. Miss EGC Pageant joins the Miss Georgia Scholarship Pageant as a preliminary pageant.


EGC joins the Nation Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) on August 1. Main College entrance relocated to Lambs Bridge Road and Madison Dixon Drive dedicated.


Sudie A. Fulford Community Learning Center opens on May 1. Construction begins on Bobcat Villas. Fall student enrollment hits 3,063. Inaugural season for EGC’s athletic program in its first year of competitive play in the Georgia Junior College Athletic Association (GJCAA).


EGC’s first residential housing, Bobcat Villas, opens. State college status is granted, allowing the college to offer baccalaureate degrees for the first time. On November 16, East Georgia College - Statesboro opens its newly constructed building on Highway 301 South, Statesboro. The Shot and Jean Strange Learning and Recreation Center for Bobcat Villas residents is dedicated on December 7. New Public Safety Office is established. President John B. Black retires on December 31.       


Dr. Robert G. Boehmer becomes Interim President on January 1. First Homecoming is held on February 4. The Jean Anderson Morgan Student Activities Center (Dubbed the JAM Center by students) is dedicated on March 29. The College’s name changes to East Georgia State College in May. The Learning Commons opens. In Fall 2012, the first cohort of students begin the new Bachelor of Science in Biology program, EGSC’s first four-year degree offering. Dr. Robert G. Boehmer is named the fifth president of East Georgia College on November 13.


Men’s basketball team wins Division 1 State GCAA tournament and ranks 8th nationally following NJCAA tournament in Hutchinson, Kansas. EGSC’s regional economic impact is $70 million according to UGA’s Selig Center for Economic Growth. East Georgia State College Augusta opens. EGSC celebrates 40th Anniversary. EGSC’s Piney Woods Disc Golf Course is selected to be a 2013 National Collegiate Disc Golf Championship Qualifier. Investiture of Dr. Robert G. Boehmer is held September 27.